jump to navigation

Absurdistan September 28, 2008

Posted by goldblatt in English Department.
trackback

Go out and read this book right now. I eyed Walter Kirn’s initial NY Times review with some interest, and then found that the Times rated it as a top 10 of 2006, but didn’t get to read it until this summer.

Wow! What a hilarious knockout book, in the tradition of A Confederacy of Dunces and The Master and Margarita, Absurdistan follows a fat but lovable fool as he bribes and stumbles his way around the newly globalized planet. Misha Vainberg is an endearing, unforgettable character; author Gary Shteyngart has given us a poster-child for international 20-somethings coming of age in the new millennium.

The story is of Misha’s quest to get on the good side of US Immigration and preserve his relationship with his Brooklyn shorty, overcoming the obstacles of his Russian mob ties and the shifting waters of international immigration. It takes place in early September of 2001 and ends on September 10.

Read this book, you won’t regret it. It’s hilarious. It’s moving.

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: